General Discussion :  Wet Plate Collodion Photography Forum The fastest message board... ever.       
Wet Plate Collodion Photography Forum 
Furniture question not photography
Posted by: Iancathcart ()
Date: July 05, 2012 04:20AM

I always wanted an old corner cupboard. Found this one recently and I liked it.
It has square sheet cut nails in portions of it. What style is it? What is the
Approximate age. Can you answer this one Ty???

[i1256.photobucket.com][/url]

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Furniture question not photography
Posted by: Ty G ()
Date: July 06, 2012 01:20AM

Good gosh, that is such a loaded question. Mainly because reproductions of furniture have been made ever since originals were being made. I am no expert, but I went and grabbed a couple books on the subject, the main one being by Albert Sack.
That cupboard has a lot of similarities of the furniture made from around 1670-1700. These things being the clunky build, the applied spindles, and the just basic, plain box shape. 1702 started the Chippendale era where pieces had less applied stuff and were more stream-lined looking.
Now, of course there was no giant time clock or a guy running around telling furniture builders to change on a specific date. So, guys who have "always built that way" didn't change easily. So, your time period could go to mid 1700's even though Queen Anne style was the "hot thing" by then.
The square head nails can't really be used to date it, because those things were used for so, so long.
If your piece is original, it could easily be that old. When I was in Virginia, there were pieces from late 1600's everywhere I turned. I went to a house a guy bought the entire contents of the home just for the furniture. At least 10 pieces in there were pre-1700. I helped load half of them into a truck. That house was right in the middle of Alexandria, VA.