General Discussion :  Wet Plate Collodion Photography Forum The fastest message board... ever.       
Wet Plate Collodion Photography Forum 
Itinerant Photographers Wagon... mid 19th century.
Posted by: Yaquina ()
Date: December 10, 2010 10:07AM

Greetings all,

I recently joined this forum and thought I would introduce myself. My name is D. Geraths and I have been shooting wet plate for a short time. I have for many years been shooting period dry plate, film, etc, specializing in replicating Victorian Era photographic images.

I own Yaquina Photography in Salem, Oregon; a small Victorian Photography Studio complete with period correct sets, backgrounds, props, etc. Lately I have been shooting a lot of Victorian Boudoir.

Wet plate seemed like a logical choice for shooting in the field and for customers at reenactments and living history exhibits so I started shooting that format earlier this year.

Besides working in photography I also own Yaquina Exhibits, a small exhibit design/fabrication business so I thought I would use my research and shop to create a proper carry-all for my wet plate work in the field.

What you see below is my Itinerant Photographers Wagon. With the exception of the wheels, this wagon was entirely designed and built by me, using my research into photography wagons of the mid to late 19th century as a guide. As I am sure many of you know, from the mid to late 1800's there were hundreds of photographers travelling the county, many of them using wagons such as you see here, to pedal their photography services.

Although there are scant few remaining photos of these wagon designs, the few that do exist illustrate one thing, that no two wagons were alike. Some were horse drawn, but many appeared to have been hand drawn, pulled street to street by the roving photographer.

I thought that this was the most historically realistic way for me to peddle my services at venues and so far it has been a great success.