Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pegged vs. Sewn soles on brogans ?

Default Pegged vs. Sewn soles on brogans ?

During a discussion, the topic came up of pegged vs. sewn soles on brogans. One person said that sewn soles would be correct while another said that pegged would be the better choice for more authenticy .

Just looking for some clarification.
    Richard Schimenti

During the war the Federal government procured a little more than six million sewed brogans and about 2.2 million pegged. They also got about 2.5 million boots, 60% of them sewn. Pegged cost less and, according to one of Sherman's corps QMs wore better, despite sewn being the standard before the war. About 2 million boots and bootees remained in stores at the end of the war but I don't know the breakdown between sewn and pegged. If we believe the corps QM, in late '64 and '65 enlisted personnel would not draw sewn if they could get pegged. I'm no expert, but I believe this may have been the result of switching from hand-sewn welts to machine sewn.

Anyway, neither pegged nor sewn bootees are inherently more "authentic."
    M. A. Schaffner
    Midstream Regressive Complainer

Sewn brogans sold for $1.80 to $2.00, the US government would pay $1.25 for pegged shoes. Cavalry boots were $3.25 for sewn and $2.50 for pegged. About 40% of all shoes and boots produced during the Civil War were pegged.

Hallo!

In terms of number representation yes.

It gets freakily impossible when one takes a look at the lack of detail normally found in shoe issuances, as well as arsenal/depot variations East and West, and who got what from what depot when. Or splitting finer hairs, whether hand sewn construction or machine sewn construction versus pegged.

For example Schuylkjill Arsenal/Philadelphia Depot purchased no pegged shoes and 3,231,647 pairs of sewed shoes. Plus also made their own sewn shoes.