Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: corny jokes in reenacting

Hybrid View

Default corny jokes in reenacting

Hi all, I am new to reenacting, and have noticed something in my area. I reenenact in Indiana, and I don't know if this is an Indiana thing, but almost everybody has some sort of corny joke for everthing. Is this a common thing in reenacting? (I do what you might call "upper mainstream"). I mean, one guy I was talking to, it almost turned into a laugh fest. we just took turns telling bad and corny jokes, and laughing in between them. This kind of Laugh FEST was not common, but their were PLENTY of jokes throughout the weekend.
    also. If any of you have any jokes or stories you've heard that are particulary funny, feel free to share them. I like a good gut busting laugh.
    i'll share one to start off. whenever the commander of the batalion at hartford city IN event,would say "I would like to thank... somebody always said "are you going too"? I gusse it was an inside joke, but just stuff like that.
    Caleb Courtney
    30th Indiana Vol.

"dont judge people by what they say...judge them by what they mean by it"

"We get an hour off for lunch because, you know, we are the UNION army."
    (I have noticed the tendency toward running ironic, sarcastic or even snarky commentary too. It's always been part of reenacting, partly because we know we're really playing soldier with expensive gear, partly because we're a little jaded after a while, and partly because we live in a sarcastic age strongly influenced by Jerry Seinfeld. Not that there's anything wrong with that... Except at those times when real veteran soldiers would have been silent.)
    Rob Weaver
    Pine River Boys, Co I, 7th Wisconsin
    "We're... Christians, what read the Bible and foller what it says about lovin' your enemies and carin' for them what despitefully use you -- that is, after you've downed 'em good and hard."
    -Si Klegg and His Pard Shorty