Thread: Looking to buy inexpensive musket.... Enfield vs. Springfield.

Default Looking to buy inexpensive musket.... Enfield vs. Springfield.

Hello all! I just posted about what equipment is good but wanted to make this gun post a bit different. I am looking to purchase an inexpensive musket for Gettysburg. I portray an Infantry private. I have heard a great deal about 1853 Enfields and 1861 Springfields and then more about Lorenz. Secondly... for reenactors guns does it matter if it is rifled or a smoothbore? Also Armi Sport vs. Euroarms vs. etc? Which is better or worse? Pros and cons for everything above as well.

Also... I would like peoples opinions on these. I am just looking to get information and if I get a deal that is in my price range I may be interested. But for right now im just gathering information.

Thank you for your help! It is appreciated as I am new in all of this!

- Matt -

Its a toss up when it come to Springfield or Enfield in my opinion. Both are great muskets. They have their pros and cons but it depends on 1) Unit portrayal standards 2) Time period (early on there was a HUGE mix of muskets available). Personally I lean toward the Enfield mainly because the fact of the sights (I love to live fire) they are "graduated" in 100 yard increments as to the Springfields 100, 300 and 500 yard flip up sights. Then theres the fact of "polished steel" on the 61's and the "blued" on the Enfields. I love maintaining my piece but the extra time spent on polishing your 61' Springfield could mean more time eating or if you have rank, tending to your duties.

When it comes down to it, ask pards in you unit what they think you should use.

Matt, welcome aboard...