Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: US Navy Uniform, pattern, construction, how-to

Default US Navy Uniform, pattern, construction, how-to

I am going to be making my hubbys best guy friend a naval uniform over the winter. I don't know what the uniform term is, but the uniform style is the dark blue wool, fall front, wide-legged trousers and pull over style shirt that has a seam across the chest.

I am a TOTAL newbie about naval uniforms. I've long admired the look but my husband has told me time and again he is NOT a navy guy. His friend gave me his dads old navy uniform from about 50 or 60 years ago to get an idea of the style and a book called The Uniforms of the United States Navy by James Tiley. The way the trousers are constructed seems complicated and they are partially lined with a heavy satiny material. I don't know if this is unique to the time when this particular uniform was made (mid 1900's) or if it was also used on mid-19th century uniforms.

I want to make the uniform correctly with correct materials, style and construction techniques. I'm having a hard time coming across originals to look at (in photos, as far as I know there aren't any around here I could look at in person from this era). I'm also having a hard time figuring out how they were constructed and how they should fit. Are there any good patterns already out there for this kind of uniform? What books or websites should I be going to to find out more about these uniforms?

I'm hoping to have a basic idea of the pattern shapes and the way the items should be put together before Thanksgiving, since that is the day we set up to take measurements and start drafting the pattern if I can't find a ready made pattern before then.

Thanks!

Sarah
    Sarah J. Meister

Independent Civilian /
    Wife / Mother / Seamstress / Musician

My Sewing Blog
    http://www.romantichistory.blogspot.com

My Pattern Blog
    http://www.romantichistoryclothing.blogspot.com