Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: sash color

Default sash color

As a relative newbie here i understand that the cufs on a confederate uniform were black that signeled a staff medical postion so the correct sash color for medical in the south would be gold ?

Default Sash Color

If I am not mistaken, I believe that would be Green
    Bobby Hughes
    Co A, 2nd Battalion Ga Sharpshooters/64th Illinois Vol Infantry "Yates' Sharpshooters"
    Savannah Republican Blues
    Co C, 3rd US Infantry
    Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum & William Scarbrough House, Savannah, GA

"I hope to live long enough to see my surviving comrades march side by side with the Union veterans along Pennsylvania Avenue, and then I will die happy." - James Longstreet at a Memorial Day Parade in 1902.

GaWildcat is correct. Green is the color of a Confederate Medical Officer's sash (as well as a Union Medical Officer).
    I Remain, Your Obedient Servant,
    Jimmy "Doc" Nelson
    Moderator (well, sometimes . . hehehe )
    ** We have Rules here! **

Daylight Lodge # 760 F&AM
    Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels

In honor of my 3rd Great Grandfather: "John Daniel Nelson", Surgeon, 4th Georgia Infantry, CSA

Thats what i thought as well however it was explained, by some people to me to me that Green was only federal. Are all in agreement that Green is correst ?
    Thanks for your imput

Default Hold it a minute

I answered off the cuff, but I have since gone back and looked at the
    Confederate Regulations, 1863

Facings

1472. For the Medical Department - Black

Trowsers

1487. For the Medical Department - A black velvet stripe; one inch and a quarter in width, with a gold cord on each edge of the stripe.

Sash
    1508. For General Officers buff silk net; with silk bullion fringe ends; sash to go twice around
    the waist, and tie behind the left hip; pendent part not to exceed more than eighteen inches below
    the tie.