PDA

View Full Version : The Return of Popeye

Popeye
06-29-2006, 11:21 PM
It has been a very, very long time since I posted here and two years since my last CW event. Frankly I became very frustrated with the entire hobby as it relates to the War of Northern Aggression, that's a zigger for some of my old friends!
I am hoping to get to an event or two this year but I want quality, not quantity.
I see most of the topics have not changed much in two years, that's warming as it reflects the hobby did not die. A prediction made a few times!!
My favorites were the Hodge marches and RECONS. Is there any discussion of such events? I'd even settle for a McDowell.
Having read some posts, yes, I am a vet but of a non-war time varity....at least against a foreign military....served in the Army from 77-81. I carry several things in my haversack.....but none say KODAK or BIC.
The vet question was an interesting one. After 9/11 I found myself angered at times when I saw kids running around playing soldier when men and women their own age were off in Iraq fighting and dying in a real war. It ticked me off that they could play war all weekend and go back to their college dorms while their peers were hunkered down in a sand hole hoping to see the light of the next day. I still get that feeling, even more so since I was told I am too old now to enlist again.....that needs to change......but I have tried to temper my feelings. Not change how I feel or think, just what I am willing to give to their comfort. So there ya go.....semi-retired and finding more enjoyment in the WWII American aspect of the hobby though I still love the CW history and look forward to getting back down South for new adventures.
Good to hear from Chris Anders again......I will be down Chris....and I'd very much enjoy your company! Sadly, I must admit, I still have not a lick of a Bluebelly kit.....but I will be working on it!

God Bless our Troops and our President

Keith "Popeye" Rayeski
NRA Life Member