PDA

View Full Version : Brass bands or fife and drums?

John Legg
06-27-2006, 03:12 PM
i love fife and Drums

flattop32355
06-27-2006, 08:16 PM
The fewer the instruments, the fewer the sour notes.

I've yet to hear a really good brass band at a reenactment (Yeah, yeah, I know; I'm going to the wrong events). Most likely, it's a combination of not playing together very often and lack of practice on the instruments. It's not like it's their full time job.

Right after I get better at knowing the infantry bugle calls and drum calls, I've got to learn some period songs to sing on the march.

John Legg
06-27-2006, 08:35 PM
yeah, since im a drummer of course i LOVE fife and Drums LOL, but yeah theres is a lack of "good brass bands" in michigan. i meen there is the 5th regimental brass band, but they use too many modern instruments, for example a silver trombone!!! LOL but yeah i would Love to see a Really good brass band!!!

Cheers,

Kimmel
06-27-2006, 08:42 PM
I enjoy a good brass band... me being a trumpeter and a bugler I'm bias toward the band.

theknapsack
06-27-2006, 10:55 PM
I love both, but I'm gonna have to go with Brass Bands, there is a lack of them at local events.

Jari
06-28-2006, 04:43 AM
On Wednesday, June 28, at 6:00 pm (Eastern time), The Federal City Brass Band will give a one-hour concert on the Millennium Stage at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC.

This performance is free and open to the public for any who are in the area
and want to brave the traffic (and the weather) to attend - keep in mind
that Kennedy Center parking is not free, however. But for those who cannot make it, this performance will also be available on the Internet as a live web cast, and then can be accessed afterwards from their archives of past performances if you miss hearing it live. The web address is
http://www.kennedy-center.org/programs/millennium/schedule.html Feel free to pass this information along to anyone else who might be interested.