PDA

View Full Version : Developing a Hospital Steward impression

Hospital Stew
11-21-2007, 02:14 AM
Hi everyone.

My name is Dan Burch and I am new to reenacting and to medical reenacting in particular. I have been been watching (and learning) from this forum for a while now and very much appreciate the excellent instruction I have received from you all. I was a member of a Federal infantry company this summer, but because of health issues, I am developing a hospital steward impression for next year and have been reading and looking at all the websites I can find concerning hospital stewards. I am familar with the dress uniform of a hospital steward, but my question is, what did his fatigue uniform consist of? Surely, a dress uniform would not be practical. I can assume it would be a fatigue blouse and sky blue trousers. In short, a basic Federal uniform but I am not at all sure and desire to protray a correct impression. If a fatigue blouse is correct, would he have worn his hospital chevrons? Would he have worn a NCO belt and plate? Its the details I'm not sure of. If someone could point me in the right direction where to find this information, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your time.

Dan Burch, "a rookie, but willing (and wanting) to learn."

Marc
11-21-2007, 09:48 AM
I am sure Noah will have your answers to this one. He did one of the best Steward Impressions I have ever had the honor to work with.

"Doc" Nelson
11-21-2007, 11:02 AM
Dan,
Browse through period photos and, look through period manuals. There is a ton of information out there that, shows a lot of variations of uniform articles worn. Some would depend on the Regiment/Brigade/Division/Corps you were with. As, some commanders had personal preferences. A suggestion would be, just go with what regulations call for. It makes things allot simpler ;).