PDA

View Full Version : Medical Department Newbie

YankeeSurgeon
10-24-2007, 07:55 AM
Hello everyone,

I just joined this group because I'm trying to create an accurate impression of an assistant surgeon for the Union army. I've been reading some primary source materials in digitized format (American and British books and journals); I recently completed a book titled "The Knife Man" about the 18th century Scottish surgeon, John Hunter and highly recommend it.) I'm a lawyer by profession (and I must confess that since I haven't found any medical reenactors/mentors close to the metro Atlanta I've actually thought of portraying a Union Judge Advocate officer but that doesn't seem like much fun!); I'm a former artillery officer but would categorize myself as one of those bookworms who has always been fascinated with military history, engineering and 18th and 19th century medicine and surgery. Additionally, my wife is a nurse and we wanted to reenact together.

Well, I just wanted to introduce myself to everyone and say that I'm very impressed with the information sharing that is going on here and I hope to learn as much as I can from all of the experienced medical reenactors. If any of you are in or near the metro Atlanta area, I would love to know so I can attend events and get involved with a unit.

Thomas Federico (aka, to my Southern friends, Thomas Frederica)

Jas. Cox
10-24-2007, 01:59 PM
Welcome. I cannot say I'm a fount of knowledge, but I will help when I can.

Jas. Cox (AKA Jim)

Marc
10-24-2007, 02:07 PM
Welcome. I cannot say I'm a fount of knowledge, but I will help when I can.

Jas. Cox (AKA Jim)

Jim,

I think most of us are not a fount of knowledge. I know myself over the years I am barely scratching the surface of 19th and 18th century medicine.

One of the great things about this forum is the sharing of knowledge and good discussions.

Jas. Cox
10-24-2007, 03:43 PM
Jim,

I think most of us are not a fount of knowledge.....