PDA

View Full Version : Units in Western MA

jeff
10-04-2007, 08:05 AM
Hi folks-

I'm a rank noob looking to potentially join the hobby for the 2008 campaign season, and am looking for units based close to my home in Western Massachusetts (West Springfield, to be a little more exact.)

I've read up on some of the varying flavors, and think that when all is said and done, my own preference for authenticity would fall somewhere between hardcore and progressive; in that I'd strive for the greatest authenticity possible, but I recognize that it may take me a while to get there. That said, I have zero interest in Sutler's Row-level supplies.

Some other things I'd like to find in my ideal unit is that it would hit a mix of all the types of events, from battle recreations, living history demos, tacticals and educational stops at schools and the like. I have significant interest in all of them, for various reasons. I'd also like my ideal unit to have an openness to some level of family involvement (my 12 year old son is very interested in the hobby and the war; my wife is a history major with her PhD and 10 year old daughter has some interest as well).

I guess maybe that makes me a little needy.

That said, I'd be willing to consider either Federal or Confederate units equally- my interest is more in the gestalt portrayal of the war and the men who served in it, rather than any sectionality.

I've made first contact with a couple of units in my area (the 9th MA Light Artillery and the 10th MA Infantry) and will be checking them out in depth, but I want to see if I can't find out all my options before I make my final decision.

Can I beg for input from the crowd?

8th TexCav
10-04-2007, 08:49 AM
Jeff,

I sent a PM to you.

jeff
10-04-2007, 10:11 AM
Got it, Barry. Thanks much!

marcaverill
10-04-2007, 08:00 PM
Here's a chance for you to meet, talk to and check out several NE units this weekend:

Murdock Hill Farm
Winchendon, MA
October 6-7, 2007