PDA

View Full Version : What happened to the 1st. Confederate Division

captdougofky
04-26-2006, 08:17 AM
I have been reenacting for ten years plus and have been to 4 or 5 National Events with them in charge of the C.S. side now they are called Army of Tenn.

Doug
Lyons Battery
1st. Ky. Vols.
C.S.

indguard
04-26-2006, 12:26 PM
There was a parting of ways over direction. A few groups wanted to edge toward stricter authenticity and a few said they weren't ready for that with some of their individual companies of their battalions. So a split occurred. When the dust settled, the 1st C.S. Div renamed itself the AOT.

Some were just more able to try for strict authenticity than others. We are all at different levels in this hobby of ours, after all, and to try and get thousands of guys all on the same authenticity level proved to be rather difficult. It is apparent that it is easier to do with smaller groups.

I think that is why the "hardcore" movement is able to do it with the higher standards as they aim at smaller groups of guys who are already all on the same page.

You will see the new AOT at Perryville this year on Oct. 7th and 8th alongside the groups that split away from the 1st C.S. Div. Come on out, you'll enjoy it.

So, the New AOT is doing strong and well and its commander, Gen. Mike Moore, is commanding the field at Perryville.

Warner Todd Huston

ley74
04-26-2006, 10:33 PM
Wait and watch. The Great Pumpkin will also visit a number of larger organizations in the next year. Fact is, it does not need to occur. Fact is, the lack of flexability simply serves to drive folks off instead of co-existing.

captdougofky
04-27-2006, 04:16 PM
I just wonder how artillery will fit into the picture. I was at Perryville in 02. Those big events cost a lot with no consideration on gunpowder is given. I shoot 1lb. shots with that and the friction primers, sometimes I wonder if its worth it. Don't forget the fees and fuel.

Doug
Lyons Battery
Kentucky

indguard