PDA

View Full Version : overnight accomodations in Gettysburg

RebeccaMI
08-27-2007, 10:43 AM
The BF and some others in the military company are thinking about going to Gettysburg next year for the 145th. (Next year is the 145th, right?) I'd like to go also, but I am thinking that since it's my first time twice over (first time going to Gettysburg, and first time attending an event that is sure to be huuuuge) it might be better to stay in a hotel/motel rather than bringing all my accommodations with me. (I don't have a wall tent, fly, and a room or two worth of furniture like some people, but as a civilian I definitely have more to bring along than a campaigning soldier does!) Also, our next-door neighbor loves Civil War history (I'm trying to get her into reenacting) and I'm going to ask her if she'd like to come with me and split the hotel cost.

So, short version of the question: Could anyone (especially if you've been there before) recommend to me a hotel/motel near where the reenactors would be camped out? It doesn't need to be right next door, but not clear across town would be nice. I may change my mind later, but I want to make a reservation now before they all get booked up (if that hasn't happened already).

blueYankee
08-27-2007, 12:35 PM
We like the Travelodge and Quality Inn....Mind you the last time we did the G'burg Anniversary reenactment, most rooms were already booked and the closest we got was just outside Harrisburg at the Plantation Inn. Was about a 20-25 min ride both ways. Some hotels/motels are funny and won't make reservations this far in advance...something about the computer turnover dates.
We have also stayed at the Eisenhower inn after the event...
Can you tell we are the "Ramada Rangers"???

Amy911
08-28-2007, 06:12 PM