PDA

View Full Version : Help!

BillyYank42
04-13-2006, 02:58 PM
I have been reenacting for about 6 years now, and I recently became involved with a girl who is also interested in the hobby. My question is this: what do I exactly need for a female impersonation, and where would I find such objects.

Chris

Frenchie_2006
04-13-2006, 05:34 PM
Don't you think you might look kinda silly in a bonnet, corset and petticoats?

Oh, wait, you meant for your girlfriend... sorry... :oops:

Well, that's an awful big can o' worms you just pried open. I'm going to point you to the Atlantic Guard Soldier's Aid Society http://www.agsas.org/ because they are the most accuracy-oriented civilian reenacting group I've ever run into. I've met many of them and they are a jolly bunch who know their stuff and will fall all over themselves to help anyone who is willing to try. Have your young lady contact them and put herself in their capable hands, and say that Frenchie LaFrance from the Baltimore Civil War Museum sent her.

MStuart
04-13-2006, 06:23 PM
I saw this guy in a green day dress and tiara a couple of years ago at an event.......................

Sorry, I had to

Mark

ElizabethClark
04-14-2006, 10:37 AM
Hee hee... you guys aren't the only ones who assumed... LOL

I'd ditto a recommendation of AGSAS. They're lovely.

One thing to be very realistic about: gearing up a citizen for living history is just as expensive as outfitting a soldier, particularly if the young lady won't be doing her own sewing. It's just as vital that her things be accurate, and they can get spendy. Plan out a base wardrobe, and start up with good stuff, so no one is spending on junk.

There are several clothing articles at http://www.thesewingacademy.com that may help.

Basic rundown of what she'll need to get dressed, skin out.

Chemise
Shoes
Stockings
Garters
Stays or corset
Split Drawers (optional, but good if she's using a hoop)
Petticoat
Skirt Support (cage or hoop usually)
Underskirts (1-2)
Dress
Collar