PDA

View Full Version : Science Background?

rkrispies
05-30-2007, 07:07 AM
I am curious about the background of my fellow medical reenactors. Personally I am a professional chemist, and have been trained as such. So I take a particular point of view on many things, especially the apothecary. Too many times I see people write things or say things that I can tell in a second are not correct. Is there a general lack of background knowledge apart from medical sciences like surgery? Or is it something else? As a particular example (and not to single out individuals), I recently read about using chloroform diluted with water as a treatment for something (cannot remember what). The little chemist in the back of my head says "Wait a second, chloroform and water do not mix!" Just wanted to get some thoughts on this. Maybe I am just being too much of a science snob!

NoahBriggs
05-30-2007, 08:06 AM
You read that "Chloroform was used to treat sore feet" or something to that effect, by Tim Kindred, in the "What do you carry into the field?" thread.

I have no formal chemistry training. (High school biology, Historic geology in college.) Yet, once I read the original sources a couple of times I had a general idea of measurements, how some substances reacted to others and the like. I felt comfortable discussing them with the public. The public do not get into the nitty gritty of the chemistry part.

Guess that's the price you pay for bein a geek. ;)

It's interesting to note that just by all my primary source reading I may very well have the same educational level as a physician with the two years of med school training. The Art and Science of Surgery, 2900 Prescriptions, Edward Parrish on pharmacy. This does not include the dozens or so I have saved from Google books on dentistry, disease, OB-GYN, and the like.