PDA

View Full Version : off-topic: digital cameras

RebeccaMI
04-23-2007, 06:41 PM
I have a digital camera that I use for work, and I really like it except for one thing... it's not very small. I've been saving for a few months to get a second one for "home" that it smaller and more tote-able so I can take it to reenactments or wherever. (Yes I know it is terribly non-period correct, but when the 'taters have gone home and there's still some daylight it's nice to snap some photos to by which to remember the event.)

I've already checked into camera ratings on Consumer Reports. What I'm looking for here is *your* reports. So if you have a digital camera...

What kind is it?

How much did you pay for it (and how long ago)?

Do you like it?

What are some pros and cons worth mentioning?

RebeccaMI
04-24-2007, 10:41 AM
Perhaps one of the moderators could move this to the whine cellar for me? In retrospect I think it belongs there better.

BobSullivanPress
04-25-2007, 10:37 AM
Just bought a Kodak C663 at Circuit City for $130. Actually, we just purchased a Samsung (don't know the model number) at the same price and hated it so much we took it back and bought the Kodak.

Both cameras were 6 megapixel models, 3x zoom.

Reasons we hated the Samsung:
EXTREMELY low battery life (like 45 minutes with alkaline batteries)
No viewfinder, had to frame pictures using the LCD screen on the back (which contributed to the short battery life I'm sure)

Reasons we liked the Kodak
Came with rechargable batteries
The rechargable batteries lasted all day at least on my daughter's week-long trip to Washington (dduring which she took about 700 pictures)
Had a viewfinder.

Purchased a 1Gb memory card at WalMart for $13. The camera came with a 512Mb card anyway.

That's my opinion.

EFA
04-25-2007, 11:39 AM