PDA

View Full Version : I need a Governor Pickens!!

queenoftheconfederacy
04-21-2007, 01:09 AM
Hey yall! I'm new to this, but my friend told me about this forum and how it would be a good idea to find what I'm looking for. I portray Mrs. Lucy Petway Holcombe Pickens, also known as the Queen of the Confederacy, wife of Col. Francis Wilkinson Pickens, governor of South Carolina during the succession and firing on Fort Sumter, I don't understand how this man can fade from commonly known history and from reenactments, just as I don't understand how Lucy's name isn't as common as Mary Chestnut's when it was Lucy that was on Confederate money, anyway, I digress, I figured that if I am going to be impersonating Lucy, that there needs to be a Col. Pickens as well and we need to be together since they were husband and wife, he was also 27 years older than her, and I do want to stick as close to that as possible, he was 51 and she 25 when they married, I mean I am 21 right now and Lucy was 28 when the war started, but I play off the age thing well, hehe, I am also working on trying to get together a Holcombe Legion with a friend of mine as well, which was named for Lucy of course, so basically what I am looking for is someone to portray Gov. Pickens along with me, I don't expect for this to come together quickly, but if anyone is interested, please let me know, Id really appreciate it!!:-D

Here is a picture of Col. Pickens
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b240/CarolinaGirl1670/Picture037.jpg

And a picture of Lucy in the 1850s, it is easy to see why she was known as the most beautiful woman in the South
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b240/CarolinaGirl1670/Picture036.jpg

TennCav
04-21-2007, 07:35 AM
What area of the country are you in?

queenoftheconfederacy
04-21-2007, 06:32 PM
I live in Florence, South Carolina, but Im always on the go somewhere, I do plan on doing a few out of state events this year

Strawfoot
04-23-2007, 01:33 PM