PDA

View Full Version : To good to be true?

LewisSullivan
02-14-2007, 03:49 PM
Hello,
Well this is my first post. I am new to the whole Medical aspect of the civil war, not living history though. I guess I decided that if I didn't want to be a real doctor I would reenact one. Anyways to the question. I have found this item on 'ebay'. Yes I know.. ebay is evil. Could you fellos take a look at it and tell me if it fits. From the research I have done it seems to and at $58. I couldn't turn it down. I know the lining is incorrect but a quick fix at wal-mart should do the trick yes? Let me know..

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=006&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=160082725254&rd=1&rd=1

- Lewis

NoahBriggs
02-14-2007, 05:13 PM
Yeah, I have seen this already. Ask the seller for his documentation.

TimKindred
02-14-2007, 06:26 PM
Comrades,

Yeah, it's too good to be true. There is also a couple of fellows selling "fantasy" medical stuff on ebay. many fellows, actually. One guy is taking post-CW instruments, and adding wooden handles to them and reselling them for reenactors. They have a light-colored handle. Basically, he's gluing a piece of wood onto each side, then sanding it down and giving it a clear coat. CW period handles were nearly always one-pieve, with the instrument set into the handle.

Also, you'll see all sorts of crappola labeled as "CW Medical". Your best bet is to get ahold of the three-volume, soft-cover encyclopedia of CW Medocal Equipment by Dr. Gordon Dammaan. It's a great starting resource as to what types of stuff was actually available, and how it was used. Full of photographs of the actual items.

Here is a set on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/3-CIVIL-WAR-MEDICAL-INSTRUMENTS-BOOKS-10-OFF-NEW_W0QQitemZ160072473403QQihZ006QQcategoryZ378QQr dZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem