PDA

View Full Version : Questions from the TV show CSI: Crime Scene Investigation

CrimeSceneInvestigation
03-16-2006, 09:02 PM
Hello all:

My name is Jon Wellner. I am a researcher for the CBS drama CSI: Crime Scene Investigation. Although CSI is a fictitious program we try to be as realistic as possible in both our portrayal of science as well as any other subject we discuss. It is with this in mind that I am contacting you all.

An upcoming episode of CSI will deal with a civil war reenactment. Considering your background, I thought you might be the perfect people to ask a few research question. I apologize for the amount of questions we have and greatly appreciate your taking the time to look at this e-mail.

What does it take to participate in Civil War Reenactments?
How serious are the participants?
Do they wear authentic uniforms or do they get fake ones?
Do they shoot each other? If so, with what?
Do they go to the actual sites where battles occur - and is it possible to have re-enactments in Nevada?
Does their choice of sides reflect their politics - i.e.-would a confederate re-enactor hold that slavery is a good thing?
How often are re-enactments held?
Is there some pre-planning involved, strategy sessions, who decides who stands where?
Is there a profile of the typical re-enactor?
Are there any descendants of Civil War veterants in the Vegas area? Any organizations (on the Daughters of the American Revolution model) that meet?
Are there some magazines or books about reenactments?
Is there an organization that runs these civil war re-enactments?
How many people in this country participate?
How fanatical do people get about this?

Again, I hope I'm not overwhelming you with all these questions. I realize how ignorant we are regarding this subject and hope you can assist us.

Sincerely,

Jon Wellner
CSI: Crime Scene Investigation
jwellner@mac.com

MissMaggie
03-17-2006, 01:29 PM