PDA

View Full Version : 1861 Springfield rifle and Confederate impression???

Reenactor Wannabe
12-17-2006, 06:52 PM
This is my first post, so hi everyone!! I am just getting into reenacting and so you may see that I have a lot of questions here in the near future. The unit that I am planning on joining shows a list of rifles that can be used and the 1861 Springfield is listed, but from what i read this weapon was primarily used by the north. I'm sure there may have been some confederate soldiers that may have had this rifle, but seems that the 1853 enfield was the most common. Mainly asking the question because i just noticed that cabelas has the 1861 springfield for sale and i can get some good discounts there. So what do you all think?

Gary
12-17-2006, 07:05 PM
Suggest you find the unit you're going to enlist in, find out what rifles they carried historically, and then buy accordingly.

Springfields were available to the Southern soldiers. They were supplied by retreating Yanks at Manassas and elsewhere. General Banks, a political appointee of Lincoln, was dubbed the best quartermaster the Confederacy had.

Reenactor Wannabe
12-17-2006, 07:15 PM
Well the 12 guage double barreled shotgun was prevelant in the beginning and then the 1853 enfields around 1862 and the article also states that captured us weapons were issued to soldiers as well.

huntdaw
12-17-2006, 08:38 PM