PDA

View Full Version : pattern advice please!

MargaretO'Grady
10-26-2006, 05:37 PM
Hi everyone, I'm Rizzi, generally go by Meg, I answer to either :p but anywho, was hoping that some of the more experienced sewers in here could give me some advice? For Rememberence Day, the ladies in my unit hve agreed to dress in mourning, to whatever degree we would personally prefer. The problem here is that I have very little experience constructing clothing (apart from the pinnings from Mrs. Clark's website, which I adore to no end), and being experienced seamstresses, none of the other ladies use patterns. I really would like to make the outfit myself, would someone be kind enough to recommend a pattern that would be beginner-friendly? I've been researching for a while now, and am wavering between black (so I can trim it interchangable when desired) or a light lavender. Any advice/opinions would be greatly appreciated, thank you!!!!

ElizabethClark
10-26-2006, 10:55 PM
I'd suggest making up any daydress you like in a sedate color or else black (sympathetic mourning or just plain old common sense fashion!), in a wool or silk of your preference. Sympathetic mourning, rather than "widow's weeds", is very appropriate for Remembrance Day, and wouldn't really be all that different from everyday clothing. Basically, sedate Sunday Best. I'd go that route rather than lavenders, etc... you'll get more use long-term from a sedate Sunday Best sort of dress.

You might ask one of the experienced ladies to help you drape a bodice pattern. Or, you might ask for help fitting a customized muslin of any of these Sunday Best styles (silk or lightweight wool):

Past Patterns 702
Martha McCain 7212, 4500, 4510
Laughing Moon 111