PDA

View Full Version : Fife purchase question

crowley_greene
10-11-2006, 12:31 PM
Following a weekend of some hearing some rather impressive musicians at Perryville, a friend of mine has begun to egg me about purchasing a fife and learning it. The captain of my company also has told me that it would be a welcome addition.

So, yesterday I spent some time doing some research toward that end. First, I have no intentions of purchasing one of those $13 maple instruments. At the same time, I can't see my way clear to shelling out the hundreds of dollars I saw some military B-flat six-hole fifes going for. I wish I could stay under $100, even under $80 if that's realistic.

Do any musicians on this board have any strong opinions about, say, the Cooperman fifes in persimmon or rosewood? Are they suitable for field music?

Oh, I'm a professional musician (bachelor's and master's degrees in music, violinist and fiddler), had some amount of woodwinds methods in studying for my music degrees, and am guessing that I could teach myself some of the basics.

I mentioned prices above. I've taught violin and viola before, and I take a strong stand in suggesting to people that they don't go the "cheap" route for a first instrument to learn on -- if an instrument cannot inherently produce a decent sound, it's not going to be fun to practice on. That's what I'm trying to keep in mind on this fife idea.

So again, any suggestions, opinions, or recommendations on Cooperman fifes or other brands?

Murray Therrell
Paragould, AR

madisontigers
10-11-2006, 01:49 PM
Hi:

Glad to see another person taking the steps towards music. To answer your question, let me first ask a few. My fellow musician is a fifer, and he has put quite a bit of study into fifing. He spent months just picking out a fife that suited his needs. I will confer with him tonight, and after obtaining more information will follow up with a post. Military fifes of the period were in the Bb .