PDA

View Full Version : Ladies (and Gents), some help please...

Major Duane
09-27-2006, 01:31 PM
Here is my situation:

I've been a military CW reenactor now for almost 21 years. I feel like I have a pretty good handle on that side of the house. I am also a high school history teacher. I am in the process of writing curriculum and grants to fund a ACW course at my high school. There would of course be the standard book/lecture component, but I'm also going to make it immersive. Hence, the final exam will be to particpate in a reenactment within state near the end of each semester. I have an impression and an estimate of finances for the male students, but I need some help in narrowing things down for the female students.

I am hoping to field a company of engineers and a contingent of aid society/nurses (who actually are functional and know how to do something).

My plan is to have the female students represent a civilian aid society/volunteer nurses and I need some direction as to where I might procure "working dresses/camp dresses" at an economical price--along with appropriate footwear. Remember, this is a public school program with minimal funding (what I can raise and get from grants). I want to do this as correctly as possible, but I'm on a budget.

I am planning on using McPherson's BATTLE CRY OF FREEDOM as one text, but I also need a suggestion on a text from the female perspective (I know about Mary Chestnut, but that is TOO long for use in this course and many of my students wouldn't read it). Can you suggest something of high interest?

Thank you in advance for your help,

John Adams

bizzilizzit
09-27-2006, 01:44 PM