PDA

View Full Version : what's your impression?

RebeccaMI
09-25-2006, 11:52 AM
I've been spending some time thinking (I'm home sick, might as well!) about exactly what impression I'm trying to portray. What am I doing "hanging out" in a camp full of soldiers? What does my family do? My dress is a shade of lavender... what am I in mourning about? Etc. etc.

What impression do you portray?

Frenchie
09-25-2006, 09:29 PM
Miss Rebecca, I'm no expert on civilian reenacting, but I know of a book that might help you decide on an impression: An Introduction to Civil War Civilians by Juanita Leisch. It's available on Amazon.com. "This book is a great start in understanding what a civilian's life was like during the war. It is also a good place to start if you're going to do reenactment. It's an excellent overview of civilian customs, fashions, etiquette, and the mindset of the times along with being a great resource for the new Civil War enthusiast or civilian reenactor. It has fun interesting facts and great photos. This is a great overview of a neglected area of study and if you are thinking of getting into CW civilian reenacting, this is the FIRST book you should buy, as it will familiarize you with the overall cultural and social framework of the era, thereby helping you get your individual interpretation / impression right."

I am, Mademoiselle, your devoted Servant,

RebeccaMI
09-25-2006, 10:17 PM
That book is actually on my wish list!

NoahBriggs
09-27-2006, 09:06 AM
Liz Clark will probably sniff out this post right after me. The joys of being a civilian reenactor bloodhound. :D

A first step most new folks take on their own is to develop one "generic" impression, preferably one which provides them with an excuse to be near the camps. For most ladies, it the quintessential Army Contract Laundress, followed by officer's wife/visiting relative, or the Relief Organization rep.