PDA

View Full Version : Homstead. FL. Parade Cancelled Over Flag Row

Blockade Runner
10-07-2009, 03:15 PM
Sadly, it has come to my attention that the forces of the "politically correct" have led to the cancellation of the Homestead Veteran's Day Parade, scheduled for November 11 in Florida. It seems that some groups withdrew from the parade based on the decision to permit the Confederate Battle Flag to be carried during the event. Gregory E. Kalof, an SCV Commander in Miami-Dade County asserted, "We're really disappointed. I'm a Vietnam veteran and I remember when we came home, we were spit upon, and this is no different".

It's painfully ironic that the decision to cancel the parade occured in a Confederate state. I recall this past Memorial Day marching down Consitution Avenue in Washington D.C. carrying a Confederate flag and living Jubal Early's dream.:D

It's certainly a shame that the Homestead parade couldn't have gone on without the disgruntled malcontents.

Rented_Mule
10-07-2009, 03:42 PM
Good for them. Veteran's Day is not to celebrate veterans of foriegn nations who tried to disolve our Union for the purpose of perpetuating chattel slavery.

I believe the state of Florida has its own officially recognized Confederate Veterans Day. Bring your flag to that and with the proper permits you can parade accordingly.

Or are you insistent on forcing your beliefs on others and against the will of the community ?

FloridaHoosier
10-07-2009, 03:44 PM