PDA

View Full Version : New to Reenacting and need unit info.

BackDraft
08-28-2006, 09:37 PM
Hey guys im Danny H. Im new to reenacting and trying to find out a bit of ifo about the group. Im currently looking for a confederate unit to join. I have been a big fan of the civil war for awhile. I heard about reenacting when I was watching the "Gettsburg" Special Features and I thought what you guys do is pretty cool. I like that people are preserving the history of the civil war and the battlefields that are left from the Civil war. I have done most of my civil war studies on the arym of Northern Virginia. Im also wondering how the units are set up. If its by location or you can just join up into a unit. Also I am not sure if my race would matter considering there werent alot of black men fighting in the army of northern virginia.

skamikaze
08-28-2006, 09:45 PM
you should check out the book Black Confederatesby Charles Kelly
Barrow. its a great list of primary sources for anyone looking to do a "colored confederate" impression.

there are several african americans i've met who do a good reb impression. In fact, we have a guy named Al in the 24th GA who comes with us to most events. i just saw another guy with a SC unit last weekend at hibernia forge too.

im gald you are planning to do this oft overlooked facet of american history.

best of luck

BackDraft
08-28-2006, 10:43 PM
Thank, you and I will check that book out.

ley74
08-28-2006, 11:01 PM
Danny:

The 47th Virginia has at least one black fellow in the ranks.

Email: EPow47@aol.com

Web site: http://www.47thva.org/

Good luck.

tompritchett
08-29-2006, 08:19 AM
i just saw another guy with a SC unit last weekend at hibernia forge too

Actually the unit was 4rth Texas.

VaTrooper
08-29-2006, 08:27 AM
We have an african american trooper.

BackDraft
08-29-2006, 08:36 AM
Thats cool, I email the Recruiter for the 47 Va. So maybe we will see were this goes.

VaTrooper
08-29-2006, 08:53 AM