PDA

View Full Version : wool fringe and other necessities

mllitz
08-20-2006, 07:37 AM
Due to various reasons it has been several months since I visited this forum. I was rather surprised at the new format, and disappointed to have lost so many threads. I'm still learning to navigate this site so please bear with me if these are redundant questions.

Does anyone have a source for wool or silk fringe? I have a couple of projects in mind and would like to trim them with the wool fringe, but would settle for silk instead.

Given the prices of spring steel, is there an acceptable substitute for a cage crinoline. I have run across some directions for making it out of flat tubing which isn't nearly as expensive.

Does anyone have information on paisley "piano" shawls? What are the differences between a piano shawl and one that was actually worn. There used to be a thread discussing them on the old forum, but I have lost it. I know there has been some confusion among antique dealers, too. I like the lively pattern and am desirous of purchasing one, but need to know what I am getting into first. Also, what would be a reasonable price to pay for one?

I have far more questions, but will limit myself to three this go 'round. Thanks to anyone who posts a reply.

Melissa Litzman

celtfiddler
08-20-2006, 08:25 AM
Given the prices of spring steel, is there an acceptable substitute for a cage crinoline.

Not that I've seen. Plus, if you're going to go to the effort of trying to reproduce a cage crinoline--why not do it right.

Sources for hoop wire:
http://www.hedgehoghandworks.com/catalog/CS000010.shtml

http://lacis.com/catalog/catalog.html

Source for a cage crinoline kit:

http://shop.originals-by-kay.com/displayProductDocument.hg?productId=14&categoryId=34