PDA

View Full Version : Judge Advocate Impression

1860sEsquire
06-05-2009, 07:00 AM
Hello everyone.

Is anyone in the Southeast portraying a CW judge advocate? I'm a lawyer and a former Army officer (artillery) who has been researching the practice of law during the antebellum period through the Civil War, with emphasis on the Union judge advocates although I'm starting to familiarize myself with the military courts of the Confederate army and their judge advocates; I want to put together an impression and attend events, organize and run a few courts martial, etc., but I'd love to connect with anyone or groups already doing this. I'm in the Atlanta area and open to either a CSA or USA impression.

Regards,

Thomas

sigman
06-05-2009, 01:12 PM
12th NJ had a captain pulled from the ranks to serve as judge advocate on the Division staff level the winter of 1863. When campaigning started he was sent to Philadelphia. He returned to the ranks later 1864 when officer's corps of the battalion was decimated after Grant's Overland campaign.

Andy Siganuk, 12th NJ, Co. K

mravery
06-15-2009, 02:28 PM
Hey Thomas,

I really like the idea of the impression that you are focusing on. When I decided to get into ACW reenacting, I too wanted to portray a non-mainstream impression and choose a Federal Paymaster (I have Banking and Banking Software background). The Federal group here in Florida welcomed me with open arms as it is an impression that is rarely portrayed in a ‘full time’ manner. I have had a lot of fun researching and playing out the scenarios.

I’m not sure what groups are in Georgia but I know that the Florida Federals would appreciate a good JAG impression (accurate).

The problem that you might run into as I run into it almost every encampment, is the time to work in the scenarios and courts. The weekends are pretty full with engagements and drill.