PDA

View Full Version : Available Sheet Music during the Civil War...

guh-nome
04-20-2009, 10:53 AM
I'm a pianist and I have long been wondering what music was available during the war? I mainly play classical music so was wondering what (if any) classical music was available in the US in print?

ex. Bach, Mozart, etc.

Danny
04-20-2009, 01:12 PM
I'm a pianist and I have long been wondering what music was available during the war? I mainly play classical music so was wondering what (if any) classical music was available in the US in print?ex. Bach, Mozart, etc.

Amber -

In a 2007 dissertation I found titled

"LOUIS MOREAU GOTTSCHALK, JOHN SULLIVAN DWIGHT,AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF MUSICAL CULTURE IN THE UNITED STATES, 1853-1865". "

covers the areas you mention. It's not proper to distribute her document in a forum like this, but I feel it's ok to attribute it to her: Laura Moore Pruett. (let me know if you want to be directed to the whole document).

Here's a couple short quotes where she listed some sources that seem useful to your question (you may be able to borrow these books for free via the inter-library loan desk at your local library, just ask):

"...In researching the cult of virtuosity, biographies of European virtuosi including Alan Walker’s three-volume Franz Liszt (1983-1996) and Jeremy Siepmann’s Chopin, the Reluctant Romantic (1995) have proven helpful. More general works such as The Piano in Concert (1982) by George Kehler and Nineteenth-Century Music (1980) by Carl Dahlhaus provide a broader view of the period. Allen Lott has traced the American tours of five European pianists in From Paris to Peoria: HowEuropean Piano Virtuosos Brought Classical Music to the American Heartland (2003), including Sigismond Thalberg, with whom Gottschalk performed on occasion".