PDA

View Full Version : Seeking information on CW Medical...

GQFDFireman44
03-26-2009, 08:46 PM
Hello,

To start off with, I am a multi-period reenacter from North Carolina. I done CW a few years back (Approx. 8 years all togeather) but I have gotten way from it by doing mostly WWII British and WWII U.S. Navy....I miss doing CW and I want to get back into it. I am a full-time EMS worker and a part-time firefighter, I have always had an interest in CW medicine and how it differs from modern and making this known to spectators and reenacters alike. Seeing that I am a State EMT....I feel I can function as a TRUE medical purpose on the field.

I have researched a few years back on the subjet of Ambulance Corps/Steward....But I have lost all my research. I am coming here to ask for yall's help on what I need to perform this impression. I want to be in the field with the infantry. My current idea is to buy a medical canteen in addition to mine, a haversack, and belt, Also I am thinking about buying a confederate hardpack and modifying it to accomudate modern supplies in a way that supplies are organized in a EMS Trauma bag, I have already started making plans for this. Also, adding a small pouch on the inside of my haversack to hold small items (Band-aids, triangular bandages, shears, Ammonia inhalents, bee stings, thermometer, tweziers etc.)

I am wandering would a hard pack and basic gear be all that I would need...or is it too much, Because the Medical Unit I am wanting to be with...has all the period stuff for the hospital and display, but I want USEFUL supplies in the field. Any information or criticizim would be greatly appreciated....pelase feel free to contact me by email or AIM.

Thanks....Take care...all

Sean

"Doc" Nelson
03-26-2009, 09:26 PM
First off . . welcome from a fellow Firefighter.