PDA

View Full Version : Proper Grammar

tompritchett
08-02-2006, 11:02 PM
One disturbing trend that I have been seeing more and more online is the lack of proper grammar and spelling. Granted we all occassionally misspell words usually due to typographical errors and do not always catch all of our errors when we proof our own work. (When I worked as a consultant, we always had a second person proof our reports and letters because the original writer will rarely catch all of his errors. After all the author knows what was supposed to be said and, consequently, will not always see what is actually being said.) But what really bothers me is the constant use of "your" for "you're" and posts with large number of misspellings. I can still remember my high school grammar teacher telling me that regardless of how good my ideas were, they would never be taken seriously if my spelling and grammar made me appear to be just a country bumpkin that just arrived in town. Over the years in observing how others react to the written word, I can only admire the wisdom in his observation.

Just my 2 cents for the night.

reb64
08-03-2006, 01:04 AM
Your point was I take is that you're noticing alot of grammatical errors in your reading. Perhaps you're right about your observation.

JBW
08-03-2006, 06:44 AM
I am not blessed with the best of spelling or grammar. :rolleyes:
Fortunately, I found a good (free) spell checker that works in forums such as these. Simply check your message before posting and it will suggest corrections.

(I have found one or two forum setups that the spell-checker will not start up in the "reply" text box, but will start in the "title" text box and will check the entire message.) :confused:

http://www.iespell.com/

HighPrvt
08-03-2006, 09:04 AM
But I am a country bumpkin' that just arrived in town. :)

bulletsponge
08-03-2006, 11:58 AM
And the abuse of apostrophes sometimes enters the realm of apostasy!

See: