PDA

View Full Version : Unit in Massachusetts

LParsons
07-16-2006, 05:57 PM
Hey, new here, i was wondering if anyone knew or was in a unit in Massachusetts, (eastern preferably). I probably wont join a unit for a year or so though, (im 18, dont drive, dont have much money, and am going to college, bad combination lol). Im not looking for super-hardcore, but one that has atleast respect for history But this hobby has drawn my interest the more i look into it. I am majoring in history next year (figures look at the hobby im interested in lol). Im making my first trip to a battlefield (Gettysburg) in August.

peace

LP

AP Hill
07-17-2006, 12:53 PM
Abolisionist/Succesionist ?

Blue/Gray ?

Yank/Reb ?

Ambrose

LParsons
07-17-2006, 02:08 PM
I found some units (federal) that im going to check out at an event next month, most of them will be there, along with some revolutionary war reenactors.
http://www.20thmass.org/
http://www.22ndmass.org/

if anyone has heard of anything (good or bad) about these groups, please tell me. Thanks

blueYankee
07-18-2006, 12:29 PM
LP- Both of these units have fine members and belong to the New England brigade- My unit has taken the field with them a few times. By checking them out...do you mean you will be at Old Sturbridge Village "Redcoats to Rebels" weekend??? You will certainly get your fill of reenacting units there! Blue Yankee

LParsons
07-18-2006, 01:52 PM
I was planning on going to OSV for one of those days, probably saturday, seems like a good way to see lots of different groups.

i was thinking of checking out this unit too, due to my Boston irish heritage

http://www.28thmass.org/

Stiggs
07-25-2006, 05:13 AM
There're supposed to be some guys ot Old Stirbridge Village portraying Sherman's Bummers this year. Should provide an interesting contrast.

Miss L
07-26-2006, 10:51 AM
Mr. Stiggs,