PDA

View Full Version : Camp Bands?

dedogtent
10-10-2008, 09:27 PM
A few of us started a camp band this year as we have wanted to do this for a few seasons. We have pretty good musicians on guitars, banjos, bones, tamborine, and a good lead vocal. I guess I am the weak link on banjo as I started playing only in January. It does help though if you keep playing with others that play well as we try to practice between events. I am hoping we can practice alot in the off season that is fast approaching and really sound good next year. We have a songbook with 27 songs. We play for fun and I don't see any recording contracts in our future. We gave our band a silly simple name, "Camp Soup".

How about anyone one else? Do any others have a fun camp band and what instruments do you play? What songs do you sing or play? Does your band have a name?

Danny
10-11-2008, 02:06 PM
John -

In our camp just as you fellas, two of us play a list of period songs. A Concertina player, and myself on banjo or guitar, sometimes a third on harmonica, tamborine or jaw bone. The concertina player and I have played together a few times for officers receptions, or at living history campfire sings, and myself at living histories or school events.

But, three challenges I have: Apparently the concertina is very difficult to keep tempo on (when the player is an amateur), yet is far louder than period banjo or guitar so I'm forced to readjust meter and it's awkward. As a string player I must also maintain perfect pitch with the Concertina as it does not itself re-tune. And third I cannot get the Concertina player to sing, yet I feel singing the song is actually more important than the instruments. I cannot do both well and no one else in our unit steps up to lead the singing either, so we don't sound all that good and it's frusterating.