PDA

View Full Version : Respect

NHVsaxhorn
07-07-2006, 04:51 PM
Greetings to all,
I'm going to try and do this without getting drummed out of camp on my first posting. I'm going to talk about respect, and sometimes the lack of it.
I have been doing this since 1999 in New Hampshire and Vermont, and travelled down to DC/Baltimore area from NH approximately 24 times in 2 years....2002-2004 to play bass saxhorn with Jari's Federal City Brass Band.
During that time, I have met and/or interacted with literally hundreds of great folks. In 2004 my wife and I moved here.
Federal City has played at Monocacy, Cedar Creek, 140th Antietam, Spotsylvania, Gettysburg Rememberence Day (s), McDowell, Gettysburg as the 26th North Carolina Band with that regiment in October of 2005, Paynes Farm on the campaign........to name a few. Pitching tents and sleeping in the dirt. Plus Fort Delaware several times, and concerts too numerous to mention, from the Library of Congress to Moravian Music Festivals as the 26th North Carolina Band wearing hand stitched Confederate uniforms, made from cloth from the North Carolina. Our instruments, EVERY one is original...or music is researched.....and we'll sleep around the camp fire. Every reenactor we've had the pleasure to meet seems to appreciate our efforts. Every one, except one.
Now you guys seem to tolerate him...and in fact some folks think he has " something to offer"......and is " knowledgeable ".......and we all just " need to understand him" as I've been told.
I think that he needs to try less " humor" and show more respect for others who know vastly more than he does, certainly about Civil War music.