PDA

View Full Version : What irks me most about reenacting

billsrebelrose
07-02-2006, 09:56 PM
Hi group, I'm a long lost post-er from awhile back, just now re-signing up! I've been reading the posts this week and just had to whine about something that's been bothering me since the New Market event this year...

...now, I'm all for authenticity. I worked in living history for the NPS right after I graduated college in 2004 and had to know about the period in order to work in the exhibits (I give a mean tour of the Dry Goods Store in Harpers Ferry). That said, I understand the point of trying to be as authentic as possible during an event. It's important that spectators see a good representation of the 1860s - especially in living history opportunities.

However. It bugs me more than anything when people start getting picky about authenticity. I'll cite, for example, a recent post about haversacks here in the forums. There was bickering about what should/shouldn't be in a haversack. And, so I don't seem like I'm picking about the forums, at the New Market event, a comment was made that a soldier was cooking with modern utensils - and this was after the camp had closed to spectators.

If we are going to get rid of Farb, shouldn't we be getting rid of ALL the Farb, not just what we feel like? CW soldiers didn't have port a johns. There were no women in camp either. So, shouldn't we be complaining about all the wives and girlfriends sleeping in soldiers tents (yes, myself included)? What about female soldiers - that are obviously women with no attempt to disguise it. But we won't change. We like our modern conveniences.

When it comes down to it, authenticity is number one. But I think if people are going to be particular about one aspect, they should be particular about every aspect - not just what makes them comfortable.

Okay, off my soapbox for now. :p

Ephraim_Zook
07-03-2006, 08:35 AM
Dear Miss Heather,